THE CONFERENCE ALLOWANCE (section 41 of the Judges Act)

Overview

Section 41 of the Judges Act provides federally appointed judges with a conference allowance for reasonable expenses incurred when they attend judicial education conferences and seminars, or other meetings related to the administration of justice. Conferences may include, for example, national judicial education programs in various areas of the law, approved by the Canadian Judicial Council (CJC), or court annual meetings as required or authorized by the various judicature acts and approved by the chief justices. Meetings of judges may include those of the CJC, the Canadian Superior Courts Judges Association, other judicial associations, boards and committees, and language training programs. The Commissioner issues Guidelines on the Conference Allowance. Expenses that comply with the Act and the Guidelines may be reimbursed by the Office of the Commissioner.

All federally appointed judges are charged a mandatory annual education fee by the National Judicial Institute (NJI). This covers registration fees for professional development or judicial education conferences and seminars organized by the NJI in a given year, as well as unlimited access to various updated online education seminars and resources. This annual education fee is approved by the CJC in its judicial education leadership role, and in accordance with subsection 60(2)(b) of the Act “to establish seminars for the continuing education of judges.” The fee is paid in lieu of individual judges’ registration fees for each NJI activity. For 2021-2022, the annual education fee is $6,067 per judge. For the purposes of expense reporting, this annual fee is prorated on a quarterly basis.


Classes of expenses reimbursed - ss. 90.21(d) of the ATIA

  • Registration fees
    Registration paid by judges to attend judicial or legal themed conferences, including the annual education fee paid to the NJI

  • Transportation
    Costs related to necessary travel by air, rail, taxi, or automobile, subject to limits and conditions identified in the Guidelines

  • Accommodations
    Includes hotels, subject to maximums prescribed in the Guidelines, and private accommodations

  • Meals
    Actual and reasonable meal expenses with receipts, or per diems prescribed in the Guidelines

  • Other reasonable expenses
    Includes child care assistance if eligible, and internet


Guidelines - ss. 90.21(f) of the ATIA


(Expenses published for one quarter are those reimbursed in that quarter. Some of the published expenses may have been incurred in a previous quarter.)

Name of court
ss. 90.21(a) of the ATIA
Total expenses reimbursed
ss. 90.21(b)
Number of judges reimbursed
ss. 90.21(c)
Meetings
ss. 90.21(e)
Description Date Location Number of judges in attendance
(for all courts)

*Some conferences and meetings were cancelled due to COVID-19. Some judges may have nonetheless incurred expenses in preparation for these events. Negative amounts reflect instances where judges repaid to FJA any refund received for flights, hotel or other reservations made in preparation of such conferences or meetings.


Other Periods

INDEMNITÉ DE CONFÉRENCE (article 41 de la Loi sur les juges)

Aperçu

L’article 41 de la Loi sur les juges accorde aux juges de nomination fédérale une indemnité de conférence pour les dépenses raisonnables engagées lorsqu’ils participent à des conférences et à des colloques de formation judiciaire, ou à d’autres réunions liées à l’administration de la justice. Les conférences peuvent comprendre, par exemple, des programmes nationaux de formation judiciaire dans divers domaines du droit, approuvés par le Conseil canadien de la magistrature (CCM), ou les assemblées annuelles des cours telles que requises ou autorisées par les diverses lois sur les tribunaux judiciaires et approuvées par les juges en chef. Les réunions des juges peuvent comprendre celles du CCM, de l’Association canadienne des juges des cours supérieures, d’autres associations, conseils ou comités judiciaires et des programmes de formation linguistique. Le commissaire publie des Lignes directrices pour l’indemnité de conférence. Les dépenses qui sont conformes à la Loi et aux lignes directrices peuvent être remboursées par le commissariat.

Tous les juges de nomination fédérale doivent payer les frais d’une adhésion annuelle obligatoires à l’Institut national de la magistrature (INM). Celle-ci couvre les frais d’inscription aux conférences et colloques de perfectionnement professionnel ou de formation judiciaire organisés par l’INM au cours d’une année donnée, ainsi qu’un accès illimité à de multiples séminaires de formation et ressources disponibles en ligne et mises à jour. L’adhésion annuelle est approuvée par le CCM dans son rôle de leadership en matière de formation judiciaire et conformément au paragraphe 60(2)b) de la Loi « d’organiser des colloques en vue du perfectionnement des juges ». L’adhésion est payée au lieu de frais d’inscription individuels des juges pour chaque activité de l’INM. Pour la période de 2021-2022, l’adhésion annuelle est de 6 067 $ par juge. Aux fins de la publication des dépenses, l’adhésion annuelle est calculée au prorata sur une base trimestrielle.


Catégories de dépenses remboursées - par. 90.21(d) de la LAI

  • Frais d’inscription
    Frais d’inscription payés par les juges pour leur participation à des conférences ou à des colloques judiciaires ou juridiques, y compris l’adhésion annuelle payée à l’INM

  • Transport
    Coûts liés aux déplacements nécessaires par avion, train, taxi ou voiture, conformément aux limites et conditions prévues dans les Lignes directrices

  • Hébergement
    Comprend les hôtels et l’hébergement privé, sujets aux montants maximums prescrits dans les Lignes directrices

  • Repas
    Dépenses raisonnables encourues pour les repas, avec reçus ou selon les per diems pour les repas prescrits dans les Lignes directrices

  • Autres frais raisonnables
    Comprennent les frais de garde d’enfant pour ceux et celles admissibles et l’internet


Lignes directrices - par. 90.21(f) de la LAI


(Les dépenses publiées pour un trimestre sont celles remboursées au cours de ce trimestre. Certaines de ces dépenses peuvent avoir été engagées au cours d’un trimestre précédent.)

Cour
par. 90.21(a) de la LAI
Total des dépenses remboursées
par. 90.21(b)
Nombre de juges remboursés
par. 90.21(c)
Réunions
par. 90.21(e)
Description Date Emplacement Juges présents
(pour toutes les cours)

*Certaines conférences et réunions ont été annulées ou tenues virtuellement en raison de la COVID-19. Certains juges ont néanmoins encouru des dépenses en prévision de ces événements. Les montants négatifs reflètent les cas où les juges ont repayé le CMF pour tout remboursement reçu pour des réservations effectuées (vols, hôtels ou autres réservations) en préparation de ces conférences ou de ces réunions.


Autres périodes