PDF version

CONSIDERATIONS PERTAINING TO COVID-19 TESTING FOR JUSTICE SYSTEM PARTICIPANTS

A Statement from the Action Committee

Our Committee exists to support Canada’s courts as they work to protect the health and safety of all court users in the COVID-19 context while upholding the fundamental values of our justice system. These mutually sustaining commitments guide all of our efforts.

Notice: This paper is not intended to replace applicable health and safety legislation and regulations, nor do the contents therein ensure compliance with those enactments. The provinces and territories have primary responsibility for the administration of public health measures, including testing, within their jurisdictions. Awareness and observance of legal responsibilities must form an integral part of court operations in response to COVID-19. Any protocols developed in this area should be reviewed and adapted to meet local circumstances and needs, in collaboration with local and/or provincial/territorial health authorities.

SUMMARY

A recent communiqué of the Action Committee encourages court officials to collaborate with local, provincial and territorial public health authorities to examine how justice system participants involved in court proceedings could access priority testing and results as well as rapid tests. This document is intended to facilitate additional dialogue between officials on that matter.

Three relevant types of tests are discussed: the laboratory-based Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test, the rapid nucleic acid test and the rapid antigen test. A simplified comparison chart from Health Canada can be found at Annex 1.

A survey of Canadian jurisdictions on access to priority (laboratory-based PCR) testing and results produced the following best practices:

  • designating a responsible court official to liaise with the local public health authority to develop and implement a protocol to establish priority testing for justice system participants; and
  • arrangements to identify jurors specifically as candidates for priority testing and results, to facilitate the resumption of in-person jury trials.

Potential scenarios for the deployment of rapid tests in a court setting include but are not limited to:

  • testing symptomatic justice system participants to isolate them more quickly;
  • repeated testing of court officials, counsel, law enforcement and corrections officers involved in in-person court proceedings, especially in jurisdictions with higher prevalence of infection;
  • repeated testing of potential jurors to facilitate a return to in-person jury trials; or
  • repeated testing of itinerant judges and court personnel who travel to remote and rural regions where an outbreak could overwhelm local capacity.

Background

In January 2021, the Action Committee on Court Operations in Response to COVID-19 (“Action Committee”) released an administrative communiqué entitled “The Action Committee Invites Court Officials and Public Health Authorities to Engage in a Dialogue to Better Protect Justice System Participants”. In its communiqué, the Action Committee strongly encouraged continued and proactive dialogue between court officials and federal, provincial, territorial and local governments and public health authorities to examine, among other matters, how justice system participants involved in court proceedings could access priority testing and results as well as rapid tests. This document is intended to facilitate additional dialogue between officials on that matter.

Relevant Types of COVID-19 Testing

While Health Canada has authorized numerous tests to detect SARS-CoV-2 (“COVID-19”) over the course of the pandemic, the focus of this document is on two main types of tests: (1) the laboratory-based molecular Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test and (2) “point of care” tests, referred to as “rapid tests” for the purposes of this document. A quick Health Canada guide to these tests can be found at Annex 1.

A PCR test is sensitive to original viral ribo-nucleic acid (RNA). Laboratory-based PCR tests require a sample from an individual, collected by a health professional. Test results can take one or more days to obtain from a laboratory, depending on demand and capacity, but this test is considered the “gold standard” for diagnostic COVID-19 testing in Canada given its sensitivity and accuracy. An individual can test positive for COVID-19 with a PCR test but no longer be contagious as the viral RNA may linger in the body beyond the contagion period.

Rapid tests come in two main forms: nucleic acid tests and antigen tests. A simplistic way of distinguishing between the two is that the former test for infection, while the latter test for infectiousness. The former, like laboratory-based PCR tests, detect nucleic acids, but samples are collected and results analyzed on site (the “point of care”), rather than in a medical/laboratory setting. Rapid antigen tests detect viral protein, and sample collection and results analysis also take place on site. Rapid antigen tests perform optimally when the viral load is higher in the individual, usually in the early phase of the disease, which is typically when an individual is most contagious. A negative test does not guarantee a person is COVID-free; the virus may be latent or beyond the detection thresholds of a rapid test. This risk may be partially mitigated by repeated testing.

Results for rapid tests can be obtained within hours, sometimes minutes. Rapid tests cost less than laboratorybased PCR tests. Depending on the type of test and required type of sample, sample collection for rapid testing in general does not necessarily have to be undertaken by a health care professional; however, all rapid tests approved to date for use in Canada do require administration by a health care professional. They are considered less sensitive or accurate than a laboratory-based PCR test. Thus, the interpretation of the results, and decisions based upon them, must take into account other factors such as the symptoms of the individual, possible exposure, purpose of the testing, disease prevalence in the community and more. In some cases, individuals who test positive and those with negative results but other risk factors may be sent for a laboratorybased PCR test for verification purposes.

Access to Priority Testing and Results

As noted above, it can take days for a laboratory to process the results from a PCR test. Due to issues of demand and capacity, individuals may also experience wait times before they can obtain a test, or tests may only be available to individuals who meet certain criteria. When the individuals seeking these tests are justice system participants, these delays may have negative consequences on court proceedings.

Canada’s courts are crucial in supporting community and national-level recovery, restoring economic activity, and strengthening social cohesion. In its document “Guidance on Essential Services and Functions in Canada During the COVID-19 Pandemic,” Public Safety Canada identifies justice system participants as performing an essential service or function. Accordingly, the Action Committee recommends that provincial/territorial and local public health officials, working in cooperation with court officials, examine how justice system participants involved in court proceedings could access priority testing and results. Based on current practices in some Canadian jurisdictions, this may include:

  • designating a responsible court official to liaise with the local public health authority to develop and implement a protocol to establish priority testing for justice system participants; and
  • arrangements to identify jurors specifically as candidates for priority testing and results, to facilitate the resumption of in-person jury trials.

Potential Deployment of Rapid Testing in the Court Setting

While the laboratory PCR test remains the gold standard, there are indications the rapid test will increasingly be used to facilitate safe re-opening. The federal government is investing in and acquiring a number of technologies, including rapid tests, to stop the spread of COVID-19. Health Canada and the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) have issued guidance documents on the use of rapid tests, including a January 2021 report from the COVID-19 Testing and Screening Advisory Panel entitled “Priority Strategies to Optimize Testing and Screening for COVID-19 in Canada” (see “Resources and References”). Since late 2020, many Canadian jurisdictions have received supplies of rapid tests, with a goal of identifying and isolating cases of COVID-19 in key sectors, including hospitals, long-term care facilities, assessment centres, manufacturing, warehousing, supply chain and food processing. As the availability and use of innovative testing options expand, the Action Committee has considered how rapid tests could be used in the court setting, with the goals of reducing transmission, preventing outbreaks, building public confidence that courts are safe to attend in person, and mitigating delays to court proceedings. Potential uses include, but are not limited to:

  • testing symptomatic justice system participants to isolate them more quickly;
  • repeated testing of court officials, counsel, law enforcement and corrections officers involved in inperson court proceedings, especially in jurisdictions with higher prevalence of infection;
  • repeated testing of potential jurors to facilitate a return to in-person jury trials; or
  • repeated testing of itinerant judges and court personnel who travel to remote and rural regions where an outbreak could overwhelm local capacity.

There are a number of foreseeable challenges and outstanding questions related to the use of rapid tests in this setting, including: the availability and distribution of rapid tests; identifying the most suitable rapid test for the intended purpose; identifying who would administer the rapid tests for justice system participants; appropriate training and appropriate biosafety measures (e.g. personal protective equipment) to safely administer rapid tests, handle samples and dispose of testing materials; who might be the candidates for testing in any given scenario; documentation/identification required to demonstrate eligibility for a test; establishing parameters for compliance (voluntary/mandatory); privacy considerations; and the need for clear communications about the limitations of rapid testing, interpretation of positive and negative test results, and the importance of maintaining public health precautions and professional medical oversight for such testing. Pilot projects to work through these issues and to test the utility of rapid testing for justice system participants may be a useful starting point in the short term. Design and administration of such initiatives must be done in collaboration with and under the supervision of local and/or provincial/territorial health authorities.

All those who gather in Canada’s courts must continue to have confidence that appropriate measures are being taken to protect their health and safety. To meet this expectation, all available options should be explored.

Resources and References

“Conducting COVID-19 PCR Testing at [Public Health Ontario],” Public Health Ontario.https://www.publichealthontario.ca/en/diseases-and-conditions/infectious-diseases/respiratory-diseases/novelcoronavirus/lab-testing-ontario/covid-19-pcr-testing

“Guidance on Essential Services and Functions in Canada During the COVID-19 Pandemic,” Public Safety Canada. https://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/crtcl-nfrstrctr/esf-sfeen.aspx#:~:text=Public%20Safety%20Canada%20has%20developed,and%20functions%20to%20ensure%20t he

“Interim guidance for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 with the Abbott Panbio COVID-19 antigen rapid test,” Canada Communicable Disease Report, 2021 vol 47, Public Health Agency of Canada. https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/reports-publications/canada-communicable-disease-reportccdr/monthly-issue/2021-47/issue-1-january-2021/interim-guidance-detection-sars-cov-2-abbott-panbioantigen-rapid-test.html

“Interim Guidance on the Use of Rapid Antigen Detection Tests for the Identification of SARS-CoV-2 Infection,” Public Health Agency of Canada. https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/diseases/2019-novelcoronavirus-infection/guidance-documents/use-rapid-antigen-detection-tests.html

“Invitation to a Dialogue to Better Protect Justice System Participants,” Action Committee on Court Operations in Response to COVID-19. https://www.fja.gc.ca/COVID-19/pdf/Communiqu%C3%A9%20- %20DIALOGUE%20TO%20BETTER%20PROTECT%20JUSTICE%20SYSTEM%20PARTICIPANTS.pdf

“Office of Provincial Health Officer Notice, Government of British Columbia”. January 29, 2021. Example of rapid testing in correctional facilities. English only. https://www.provincialcourt.bc.ca/downloads/Announcements/2021/Announcement%2029-01-2021%20- %20OPHO%20Notice%20re%20Corrections%20Outbreaks.pdf

“Pan-Canadian COVID-19 Testing and Screening Guidance: Technical Guidance and Implementation Plan,” Public Health Agency of Canada. https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/drugs-healthproducts/covid19-industry/medical-devices/testing/pan-canadian-guidance.html

“Priority Strategies to Optimize Testing and Screening for COVID-19 in Canada: Report,” Health Canada. January 2021. https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/drugs-health-products/covid19- industry/medical-devices/testing-screening-advisory-panel/reports-summaries/priority-strategies.html

“Protocol for Communication and Testing Related to COVID-19 in Courthouses,”Government of British Columbia. January 19, 2021. https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/justice/covid-19/covid-courtoperations#protocol and http://www.bccdc.ca/Health-InfoSite/Documents/COVID_public_guidance/Protocol_Communication_Testing_Court_Facilities.pdf

ANNEX 1: SUMMARY OF DIFFERENCES BETWEEN CURRENTLY AVAILABLE LAB-BASED PCR, POINT-OF-CARE NUCLEIC ACID TEST AND RAPID ANTIGEN TESTS

version PDF

CONSIDÉRATIONS RELATIVES AU DÉPISTAGE DE LA COVID-19 POUR LES PERSONNES ASSOCIÉES AU SYSTÈME JUDICIAIRE

Déclaration du Comité d’action

Notre comité existe afin d’appuyer les tribunaux canadiens dans leurs efforts en vue de protéger la santé et d’assurer la sécurité de tous les usagers des tribunaux dans le contexte de la COVID-19 tout en respectant les valeurs fondamentales de notre système de justice. Ces engagements qui se soutiennent mutuellement guident tous nos efforts.

Avis: Le présent document ne vise pas à remplacer les lois et les règlements applicables en matière de santé et de sécurité, et son contenu n’assure pas la conformité à ces textes législatifs. Les provinces et les territoires sont les principaux responsables de l’administration des mesures de santé publique, dont les tests de dépistage, dans leur territoire. La sensibilisation et le respect des responsabilités juridiques doivent faire partie intégrante des activités des tribunaux en réponse à la COVID-19. Tous les protocoles élaborés dans ce domaine devraient être examinés et adaptés pour répondre aux circonstances et aux besoins locaux, en collaboration avec les autorités sanitaires locales et/ou provinciales/territoriales.

SOMMAIRE

Un récent communiqué du Comité d’action encourage les fonctionnaires des tribunaux à collaborer avec les autorités de santé publique locales, provinciales et territoriales pour examiner comment les personnes associées au système judiciaire qui participent à des procédures devant les tribunaux peuvent, d’une part, avoir accès à des tests et à leurs résultats sur une base prioritaire et, d’autre part, avoir accès aux tests rapides. Le présent document vise à faciliter la poursuite du dialogue à cet égard entre les responsables concernés.

Trois types de tests de dépistage pertinents sont abordés : le test par réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR) effectué en laboratoire, le test rapide d’acide nucléique et le test rapide d’antigène. Un tableau comparatif simplifié de Santé Canada se trouve à l’Annexe 1.

Une enquête menée auprès des différents ressorts canadiens sur l’accès sur une base prioritaire aux tests (PCR effectués en laboratoire) et aux résultats a permis de faire émerger les meilleures pratiques suivantes :

  • la désignation au sein du tribunal d’un responsable chargé d’assurer la liaison avec l’autorité locale de santé publique pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre un protocole visant à procéder au dépistage prioritaire des personnes associées au système judiciaire; et
  • la mise en place d’ententes permettant de désigner expressément les jurés comme candidats prioritaires pour le dépistage et l’obtention des résultats, en vue de faciliter la reprise des procès se tenant en personne devant jury.

Les scénarios possibles pour le déploiement de tests rapides dans un contexte judiciaire peuvent comprendre :

  • l’administration de tests pour les personnes associées au système judiciaire qui présentent des symptômes, afin de les isoler plus rapidement;
  • l’administration de tests répétés pour le personnel des tribunaux, les avocats, les agents de la paix et les agents correctionnels prenant part à des procédures judiciaires se déroulant en personne, en particulier dans les ressorts où la prévalence de l’infection est plus élevée;
  • l’administration de tests répétés pour les candidats afin de faciliter la reprise des procès se déroulant en personne devant jury;
  • l’administration de tests répétés pour les juges itinérants et le personnel des tribunaux qui se rendent dans des régions éloignées et rurales où une éclosion pourrait épuiser les capacités locales.

Contexte

En janvier 2021, le Comité d’action sur l’administration des tribunaux en réponse à la COVID–19 (« Comité d’action ») a publié un communiqué administratif intitulé « Le Comité d’action invite les responsables des tribunaux et les autorités de santé publique à entreprendre un dialogue pour mieux protéger les personnes associées au système judiciaire ». Dans son communiqué, le Comité d’action encourage fortement les responsables des tribunaux ainsi que les administrations fédérales, provinciales, territoriales et locales et les autorités de santé publique à poursuivre un dialogue proactif et constant afin de voir, entre autres, comment les personnes associées au système judiciaire pourraient être priorisées pour les tests de dépistage et l’obtention des résultats. Le présent document vise à faciliter la poursuite du dialogue à cet égard entre les responsables concernés.

Types pertinents de tests de dépistage de la COVID-19

Santé Canada a autorisé de nombreux tests pour détecter le SRAS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) au cours de la pandémie, mais le présent document est axé sur deux principaux types : (1) le test moléculaire par réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (PCR) en laboratoire et (2) les tests « aux points de services », appelés « tests rapides » dans le présent document. Un guide rapide de Santé Canada concernant ces tests figure à l’Annexe 1.

Un test PCR est sensible à l’acide ribonucléique (ARN) viral original. Les tests PCR, effectués en laboratoire, nécessitent un échantillon prélevé sur un individu par un professionnel de la santé. L’obtention de résultats des laboratoires pour de tels tests peut prendre un ou plusieurs jours, selon la demande et la capacité, mais ce test est considéré comme « l’étalon-or » pour le test diagnostic de la COVID-19 au Canada, étant donné sa sensibilité et sa précision. Un individu peut recevoir un résultat positif à la COVID-19 avec un test PCR mais ne plus être contagieux, puisque l’ARN viral peut subsister dans le corps au-delà de la période de contagion.

Les tests rapides se présentent sous deux formes principales : les tests d’acide nucléique et les tests d’antigène. Une façon plutôt simple de les distinguer consiste à dire que le premier teste l’infection, tandis que le second teste l’infectiosité. Le premier, comme les tests PCR effectués en laboratoire, détecte les acides nucléiques, mais les échantillons sont prélevés et les résultats analysés sur place (au « point de services »), plutôt que dans un cadre médical ou en laboratoire. Les tests rapides d’antigènes détectent les protéines virales, et la collecte des échantillons et l’analyse des résultats se font également sur place. Les tests rapides de détection d’antigènes fonctionnent de manière optimale lorsque la charge virale est plus élevée chez l’individu, généralement au début de la maladie, c’est-à-dire lorsque l’individu est le plus contagieux. Un test négatif ne garantit pas qu’une personne n’a pas la COVID-19; le virus peut être latent ou ne pas respecter les seuils de détection des tests rapides. L’administration de tests de dépistage répétés permet toutefois de réduire en partie ce risque.

Les résultats des tests rapides peuvent être obtenus en quelques heures, voire quelques minutes. Les tests rapides coûtent moins cher que les tests PCR effectués en laboratoire. Selon le type de test et le type d’échantillon requis, le prélèvement d’échantillons pour les tests rapides en général n’a pas nécessairement à être effectué par un professionnel de la santé. Cependant, tous les tests rapides dont l’utilisation a été approuvée à ce jour au Canada doivent être administrés par un professionnel de la santé. Ils sont considérés comme moins sensibles ou moins précis qu’un test PCR effectué en laboratoire. Ainsi, l’interprétation des résultats, et les décisions fondées sur ceux-ci, doivent tenir compte d’autres facteurs, comme les symptômes de l’individu, l’exposition possible au virus, l’objectif du dépistage, la prévalence de la maladie dans la collectivité et plus encore. Dans certains cas, les personnes dont le résultat est positif et celles dont le résultat est négatif, mais qui présentent d’autres facteurs de risque, peuvent être envoyées passer un test PCR effectué en laboratoire pour vérification.

Accès prioritaire aux tests de dépistage et aux résultats

Comme il est mentionné plus haut, il peut falloir des jours pour qu’un laboratoire traite les résultats d’un test PCR. En raison de problèmes de demande et de capacité, il est aussi possible que des personnes doivent attendre avant de pouvoir obtenir un test ou que les tests ne soient disponibles que pour les personnes qui répondent à certains critères. Lorsque les personnes qui demandent ces tests sont associées au système judiciaire, ces retards peuvent avoir des conséquences négatives sur les procédures judiciaires.

Les tribunaux du Canada ont un rôle essentiel à jouer dans la reprise des activités à l’échelle communautaire et nationale, dans le rétablissement de l’activité économique et dans le renforcement de la cohésion sociale. Dans son document « Orientation sur les services et les fonctions essentiels au Canada pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19 », Sécurité publique Canada désigne les personnes associées au système judiciaire comme offrant un service essentiel. Le Comité d’action recommande donc que les autorités de santé publique provinciales/territoriales et locales, en collaboration avec les responsables des tribunaux, examinent comment les personnes associées au système judiciaire pourraient être priorisées pour les tests de dépistage et l’obtention des résultats. D’après les pratiques actuelles dans certains ressorts canadiens, cela pourrait inclure les éléments suivants :

  • la désignation au sein du tribunal d’un responsable qui serait chargé d’assurer la liaison avec les autorités locales de santé publique, aux fins d’élaboration et de mise en œuvre d’un protocole visant à procéder au dépistage prioritaire des personnes associées au système judiciaire; et
  • la mise en place d’ententes permettant de désigner expressément les jurés comme candidats prioritaires pour le dépistage et l’obtention des résultats, en vue de faciliter la reprise des procès se tenant en personne devant jury.

La détermination des secteurs qui constituent des services essentiels admissibles à des mesures de santé publique supplémentaires, comme le dépistage prioritaire, relève en dernier ressort de la compétence des provinces et des territoires.

Déploiement potentiel des tests rapides en contexte judiciaire

Si le test PCR effectué en laboratoire demeure l’étalon-or, il semble que les tests rapides seront de plus en plus utilisés pour permettre une réouverture sécuritaire des tribunaux. Le gouvernement fédéral investit dans diverses technologies, dont les tests rapides, en plus d’en faire l’acquisition, afin d’arrêter la propagation de la COVID-19. Santé Canada et l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) ont publié des documents d’orientation sur l’utilisation des tests rapides, dont le rapport de janvier 2021 du Comité consultatif d’experts sur les tests et le dépistage de la COVID-19 intitulé « Stratégies prioritaires pour optimiser les tests et le dépistage de la COVID-19 au Canada » (voir « Ressources et références »). Depuis la fin de 2020, de nombreuses administrations canadiennes ont reçu des stocks de tests rapides dans le but de détecter et d’isoler les cas de COVID-19 dans des secteurs clés, dont les hôpitaux, les établissements de soins de longue durée, les centres d’évaluation, ainsi que le domaine manufacturier et les domaines de l’entreposage, de l’approvisionnement et de la transformation alimentaire. Comme la disponibilité et l’utilisation d’options novatrices en matière de dépistage grandissent, le Comité d’action a examiné comment les tests rapides pourraient être utilisés en contexte judiciaire en vue de réduire la transmission du virus, de prévenir les éclosions, de renforcer la confiance du public quant au fait qu’il est sécuritaire d’être présent dans les tribunaux, et de réduire les retards dans les procédures judiciaires. Parmi les utilisations qui pourraient en être faites, il convient de noter ce qui suit :

  • l’administration de tests pour les personnes associées au système judiciaire qui présentent des symptômes, afin de les isoler plus rapidement;
  • l’administration de tests répétés pour le personnel des tribunaux, les avocats, les agents de la paix et les agents correctionnels prenant part à des procédures judiciaires se déroulant en personne, en particulier dans les ressorts où la prévalence de l’infection est plus élevée;
  • l’administration de tests répétés pour les candidats jurés afin de faciliter la reprise des procès se déroulant en personne devant jury;
  • l’administration de tests répétés pour les juges itinérants et les membres du personnel des tribunaux qui se rendent dans des régions éloignées et rurales où une éclosion pourrait épuiser les capacités locales.

Il existe un certain nombre de défis prévisibles et de questions à résoudre concernant l’utilisation des tests rapides dans ce contexte, notamment : la disponibilité et la distribution des tests rapides; le choix du test rapide le plus approprié pour l’objectif visé; la désignation des personnes qui feraient passer ces tests aux personnes associées au système judiciaire; la formation et les mesures de biosécurité appropriées (par ex. l’équipement de protection individuelle) pour administrer en toute sécurité les tests rapides, manipuler les échantillons et éliminer le matériel d’essai; la question de savoir quelles personnes pourraient être des candidats au dépistage dans un scénario donné; la documentation et les pièces d’identité requises pour prouver l’admissibilité à un test; l’établissement de paramètres de conformité (volontaire/obligatoire); les considérations relatives à la vie privée; et la nécessité de mettre en place des communications claires sur les limites des tests rapides, l’interprétation des résultats positifs et négatifs et l’importance de maintenir les mesures de précaution de santé publique et la surveillance médicale professionnelle dans l’administration de ces tests. À court terme, il pourrait être utile de commencer par mener des projets pilotes pour résoudre ces questions et difficultés, et pour tester l’utilité des tests rapides pour les personnes associées au système judiciaire. La conception et la gestion de telles initiatives doivent se faire en collaboration avec les autorités sanitaires locales et/ou provinciales/territoriales et sous leur supervision.

Les personnes qui se réunissent dans les tribunaux canadiens doivent continuer de croire que les mesures adéquates sont prises pour assurer leur santé et leur sécurité. Pour répondre à ce besoin, il y a lieu d’envisager toutes les possibilités pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des personnes associées au système judiciaire.

Ressources et références

« Le dépistage par RCP de la COVID-19 à [Santé publique Ontario] », Santé publique Ontario. https://www.publichealthontario.ca/fr/diseases-and-conditions/infectious-diseases/respiratory-diseases/novelcoronavirus/lab-testing-ontario/covid-19-pcr-testing

« Orientation sur les services et les fonctions essentiels au Canada pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19 », Sécurité publique Canada. https://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/crtcl-nfrstrctr/esf-sfe-fr.aspx

« Directives provisoires concernant la détection du SRAS-CoV-2 grâce au test de dépistage rapide des antigènes de la COVID-19 de Panbio », Relevé des maladies transmissibles au Canada, 2021 volume 47, Agence de la santé publique du Canada. https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-publique/services/rapportspublications/releve-maladies-transmissibles-canada-rmtc/numero-mensuel/2021-47/numero-1-janvier2021/directives-provisoires-concernant-detection-sras-cov-2-test-depistage-rapide-antigenes-panbio.html

« Lignes directrices provisoires sur l’utilisation de tests de détection rapides d’antigènes pour déceler une infection par le SRAS-CoV-2 », Agence de la santé publique du Canada. https://www.canada.ca/fr/santepublique/services/maladies/2019-nouveau-coronavirus/document-orientation/utilisation-tests-detection-rapidesantigenes.html

« Invitation à entreprendre un dialogue pour mieux protéger les personnes associées au système judiciaire », Comité d’action sur l’administration des tribunaux en réponse à la COVID-19. https://www.canada.ca/fr/santecanada/services/medicaments-produits-sante/covid19-industrie/instruments-medicaux/depistage/orientationspancanadiennes.html#a2

« Stratégies prioritaires pour optimiser les tests et le dépistage de la COVID-19 au Canada : Rapport », Santé Canada. Janvier 2021. https://www.canada.ca/fr/sante-canada/services/medicaments-produits-sante/covid19-industrie/instruments-medicaux/comite-consultatif-tests-depistage/rapports-sommaires/strategiesprioritaires.html

« Office of Provincial Health Officer Notice,» Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique. 29 janvier 2021. Exemple d’utilisation de tests rapides dans les établissements correctionnels. En anglais seulement https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/justice/covid-19/covid-courtoperations#protocol et http://www.bccdc.ca/Health-InfoSite/Documents/COVID_public_guidance/Protocol_Communication_Testing_Court_Facilities.pdf

ANNEXE 1 : RÉSUMÉ DES DIFFÉRENCES ENTRE LES TESTS PCR EFFECTUÉS EN LABORATOIRE, LES TESTS À L’ACIDE NUCLÉIQUE EFFECTUÉS AUX POINTS DE SERVICES ET LES TESTS RAPIDES D’ANTIGÈNES ACTUELLEMENT DISPONIBLES