PDF version

The courts are a pillar of Canada’s democracy, an essential service to Canadians, and a critical support to economic activity. However, as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, courts were forced to significantly curtail operations in response to physical distancing and other public health and safety requirements.

That is why the Right Honourable Richard Wagner, Chief Justice of Canada and Chairperson of the Canadian Judicial Council, and the Honorable David Lametti, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, established an Action Committee on Court Operations in Response to COVID-19 in May 2020.

The Action Committee provides national leadership to support the work of provincial and territorial governments, individual courts, and court administrators in progressively restoring the full operation of Canada’s courts while ensuring the safety of court users and staff.

As Canadians and their communities emerge from the present crisis and adapt to new realities introduced by COVID-19, the courts will be crucial to a broader national recovery. By providing provincial, territorial, and judicial decision-makers with the best possible health and safety information, the Action Committee supports them in ensuring the safety and wellbeing of court users, while advancing Canadians’ common interest in a safe and accessible justice system.

The Action Committee – Who We Are and What We Do

Action Committee – Progress Report

Protecting the Health and Safety of Court Users and Personnel During the Pandemic

Optimizing Jury Processes During and Beyond the Pandemic

Access to Justice for Marginalized Individuals During and Beyond the Pandemic

Open Hearings and Access to Court Services During and Beyond the Pandemic

Reducing Backlog and Delays During and Beyond the Pandemic

Newsroom

version PDF

Les tribunaux constituent un pilier de la démocratie canadienne, offrent un service essentiel pour la population canadienne et apportent un soutien déterminant à l’activité économique. Néanmoins, les tribunaux ont été forcés de considérablement réduire leurs activités en raison de l’éloignement physique et d'autres exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité publiques.

Le très honorable Richard Wagner, juge en chef du Canada et président du Conseil canadien de la magistrature, et l’honorable David Lametti, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, ont par conséquent mis sur pied un Comité d’action sur l’administration des tribunaux en réponse à la COVID-19 en mai 2020.

Le Comité d’action fournit un leadership national pour appuyer le travail des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, des différents tribunaux et de leurs administrateurs dans le rétablissement progressif du fonctionnement complet des tribunaux du Canada tout en assurant la sécurité des utilisateurs et du personnel.

Au moment où la population canadienne et ses collectivités sortent de la crise actuelle et s’adaptent aux nouvelles réalités découlant de la COVID-19, les tribunaux joueront un rôle essentiel à une reprise nationale plus vaste. En fournissant aux décideurs provinciaux, territoriaux et judiciaires la meilleure information possible sur la santé et la sécurité, le Comité d’action les aide à assurer la sécurité et le bien-être des utilisateurs des tribunaux, tout en faisant progreser l’intérêt commun de la société canadienne à l’égard d’un système de justice sécuritaire et accessible.

Le Comité d’action - Qui nous sommes et ce que nous faisons

Le Comité d’action - Bilan

Protéger la santé et la sécurité des usagers et du personnel des tribunaux durant la pandémie

Optimiser les processus relatifs aux jurés durant et après la pandémie

Accès à la justice pour les personnes marginalisées durant et après la pandémie

Audiences publiques et accès aux services judiciaires durant et après la pandémie

Minimiser l’engorgement et les délais judiciaires durant et après la pandémie

Salle de nouvelles