Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada

Our Role

The Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada (FJA) was created in 1978 under an Act of the Parliament of Canada to safeguard the independence of the judiciary and put federally appointed judges at arm's length from the Department of Justice. Our mandate extends to promoting better administration of justice and providing support for the federal judiciary.

In supporting federal judicial activities, FJA must strive to meet three priorities:

  • protect the independence of the judiciary;
  • achieve greater administrative efficiency in the judiciary using up-to-date technology; and
  • support the judiciary and provide central administrative services to judges.

The Judges Act provides for the designation of an officer called the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada. One of the roles and responsibilities of the Commissioner is to act on behalf of the Minister of Justice in matters related to the administration of Part I of the Judges Act, which deals with the terms of appointment, age limit and salaries applicable to federally appointed judges.

FJA has an appointments secretariat which administers 17 advisory committees responsible for evaluating candidates for federal judicial appointments. The Minister of Justice has given FJA the mandate to administer the Supreme Court of Canada Appointments Selection Panel process, established to evaluate candidates for appointment to the Supreme Court of Canada.

The Federal Courts Reports section of FJA is responsible for selecting and publishing Federal Court of Appeal and Federal Court decisions in both official languages. FJA's intranet, JUDICOM, provides judges with e-mail, a secure, restricted-access conversation system and a virtual library. FJA also provides language training in English and French for judges who wish to take the program. Finally, FJA coordinates initiatives related to the Canadian judiciary's role in international cooperation.

Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada

Rôle et activités

Créé par une loi du Parlement du Canada en 1978, le Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada (CMF) a pour mandat de protéger l'indépendance des juges et de leur assurer toute l'autonomie nécessaire vis-à-vis le ministère fédéral de la Justice. Il doit également promouvoir l'administration de la justice au Canada et soutenir la magistrature fédérale.

Dans son rôle de soutien de la magistrature fédérale, le Commissariat doit respecter trois grandes priorités :

  • protéger l'indépendance des juges;
  • rendre le travail de la magistrature plus efficace grâce à la technologie; et
  • appuyer les activités de la magistrature et fournir des services administratifs centralisés à l'intention des juges.

La Loi sur les juges prévoit la désignation d'un haut fonctionnaire du Commissariat au poste de commissaire à la magistrature fédérale.  Les devoirs et les fonctions du commissaire consistent notamment à agir comme délégué du ministre de la Justice en ce qui concerne l'administration de la partie 1 de la Loi sur les juges. Cette partie porte sur les conditions de nomination, la limite d'âge et les traitements accordés aux juges de nomination fédérale.

Par ailleurs, le CMF comporte un secrétariat des nominations qui administre 17 comités consultatifs chargés d'évaluer les candidatures aux postes de juges de nomination fédérale. Le ministre de la Justice a également confié au CMF le mandat d'administrer le processus enclenché par la constitution du Comité de sélection des nominations à la Cour suprême du Canada afin d'évaluer les candidatures à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Également, la section du Recueil des décisions des Cours fédérales du CMF est chargée de choisir et de publier dans les deux langues officielles les décisions de la Cour d'appel fédérale et de la Cour fédérale. L'intranet du CMF, appelé JUDICOM, offre aux juges le courrier électronique et le système de conversation à accès restreint et sécurisé, ainsi qu'une bibliothèque virtuelle. Le CMF offre aussi la formation linguistique dans les deux langues officielles aux juges qui désirent suivre ce programme. Enfin, le CMF coordonne les initiatives se rapportant au rôle de la magistrature canadienne en ce qui concerne la coopération internationale.