Overview of Federal Judicial Appointments

Introduction

The federal judicial appointments process has been in place since 1988. It continues to be revised on the basis of ongoing operational experience. The Guide for Candidates describes the process with revisions to date and is intended for those interested in submitting their candidacies for appointment, or in nominating others as candidates.

This Guide applies to the appointment of judges of the superior courts of every province and territory, the courts of appeal, the Federal Court of Appeal, the Federal Court and the Tax Court of Canada.

IMPORTANT:

  • The application process and required documentation were recently updated in October 2016.
  • All candidates seeking a federal judicial appointment MUST submit their application using the October 2016 Questionnaire, Authorization Form, and Background Check Consent Form pursuant to the new application process.
  • The requirement to submit a new application using the October 2016 Questionnaire, Authorization Form and Background Check Consent Form applies REGARDLESS of whether a lawyer, or provincial or territorial court judge has previously applied.
  • Please DO NOT provide letters of reference or a separate curriculum vitae.

For your convenience, the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada has made available on its website, the necessary forms to assist you in submitting your candidacy. Before completing and returning these forms, you should familiarize yourself with all the sections in this Guide, as described in the Process for an Application for Appointment and Considerations which Apply to an Application for Appointment.

Any inquiries for additional information should be addressed to:

The Executive Director, Judicial Appointments
Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada
99 Metcalfe Street, 8th floor
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 1E3. Tel.
(613) 992-9400
1-877-583-4266 (toll free)
Fax (613) 941-0607

Aperçu du régime de nomination à la magistrature fédérale

Introduction

Le régime de nomination à la magistrature fédérale a été mis en place en 1988. Des changements y sont apportés selon l’expérience acquise. Le Guide pour candidats explique la procédure que prévoit ce régime avec les changements apportés à ce jour; il s’adresse aux personnes intéressées à poser leur candidature ou à proposer des candidats et candidates à la magistrature fédérale.

Le Guide s’applique à la nomination des juges des cours supérieures de chaque province et territoire, les cours d’appel, la Cour d’appel fédérale, la Cour fédérale et de la Cour canadienne de l’impôt.

IMPORTANT :

  • Le processus de demande de nomination et les documents requis ont été mis à jour en octobre 2016.
  • Tous les candidats qui désirent poser leur candidature à la magistrature fédérale DOIVENT remplir le Questionnaire d'octobre 2016, le Formulaire d’autorisation et le Formulaire de consentement à la vérification des antécédents dans le cadre du nouveau processus de demande de nomination.
  • Il est obligatoire d’utiliser le Questionnaire d'octobre 2016, le Formulaire d’autorisation et le Formulaire de consentement à la vérification des antécédents pour présenter une nouvelle demande, MÊME SI un candidat ou un juge d’une cour provinciale ou territoriale a déjà posé sa candidature.
  • Nous vous prions de NE PAS fournir de lettres de recommandation ou de curriculum vitæ distinct.

Le Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada a mis à votre disposition sur son site web les formulaires qui vous permettront de poser votre candidature en bonne et due forme. Avant de remplir et de nous retourner ces formulaires, nous vous invitons à consulter tous les chapitres du Guide pour candidats concernant le Régime gouvernant une demande de nomination et les Considérations associées à une demande de nomination.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez vous adresser à:

Directrice exécutive, Nominations à la magistrature,
Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada,
99, rue Metcalfe, 8e étage,
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 1E3
Téléphone (613) 992-9400
1-877-583-4266 (sans frais)
Télécopieur (613) 941-0607