Information about this service

Federal Court / Federal Court of Appeal

The Federal Court of Canada was established in 1971 as the successor to the Exchequer Court of Canada which had been created in 1875.

A major reason for the new Court's creation was the increase in the number of federal boards and commissions and the realization that a national court was needed to review the decisions of the administrative tribunals. Speaking in the House of Commons when the legislation to create the new Court was being debated, Justice Minister Turner stated that the Federal Court would serve to balance the rights of the citizen and the state by providing recourse against bigness, alienation and distance from the decision-making power.

The Federal Court Act was amended by the Courts Administration Service Act, which came into force on July 2, 2003. The two divisions of the Federal Court became a separate court of appeal, continued under the name "Federal Court of Appeal", and a trial court, continued under the name "Federal Court". The short title of the Act is now the Federal Courts Act. To reflect these legislative changes, the Federal Court Reports, the official reports of the two courts was continued under the name "Federal Courts Reports" commencing with 2004, Volume 1. At the same time, the citation was changed to "F.C.R." to avoid confusion with the new neutral citation used by the Federal Court.

The jurisdiction of the Federal Court extends not only to judicial review but also to: actions by and against the Crown, admiralty, customs, labour relations, intellectual property law (patents, copyright, trade–marks and industrial designs), and citizenship and immigration. The Federal Court of Appeal hears appeals from the Federal Court and the Tax Court of Canada, and has jurisdiction to determine applications for judicial review from federal boards, commissions and tribunals listed in Federal Courts Act, section 28.

Federal Courts Reports

Editor

The Federal Courts Reports are the official reports of the decisions of the Federal Court of Appeal and of the Federal Court. They are published under section 58 of the Federal Courts Act, which provides that the Minister of Justice shall appoint or designate a person to be editor of the Reports. Pursuant to that section, only the decisions or the parts of them that, in the editor's opinion, are of sufficient significance or importance to warrant publication in the Reports shall be included therein.

Selected decisions are published in both official languages (in a side by side format) and undergo a thorough editorial process. This process includes copy editing and citation verification, the preparation of headnotes and captions, and translation accuracy confirmation.

Advisory Committee

Section 58 further provides that the Minister "may appoint a committee of not more than five persons to advise the editor". Such an advisory committee was established late in 1999. The current members of this committee are: Suzanne Thibaudeau, Q.C., of Montreal; and Toronto lawyer Lorne Waldman of Waldman & Associates. The Editor may call upon these prominent practitioners for an opinion to assist in the selection process in respect of cases which fall within their particular area of expertise.

Federal Courts Reports Web Site

Decisions of the Federal Court of Appeal and of the Federal Court appearing in the official reports series either in full text or as digests are available free of charge on the Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada's Web site.  The online collection goes back to 1993. Full volumes in PDF format going back to 2007 are also available.

Aperçu du Recueil des décisions des Cours fédérales

Cour fédérale / Cour d'appel fédérale

La Cour fédérale du Canada a été instituée en 1971 pour succéder à la Cour de l'Échiquier du Canada, qui avait été créée en 1875.

Parmi les principales raisons invoquées pour l'établissement du nouveau tribunal, mentionnons la prolifération des offices fédéraux et l'idée qu'il fallait un tribunal national pour contrôler les décisions des tribunaux administratifs. Lors d'une intervention à la Chambre des communes au moment de l'étude de la loi visant à créer le nouveau tribunal, le ministre de la Justice, John Turner, a déclaré que la Cour fédérale favoriserait un équilibre entre les droits du citoyen et ceux de l'État, en atténuant le sentiment d'aliénation et la distance qui sépare le citoyen du pouvoir décisionnel.

La Loi sur la Cour fédérale a été modifiée par la Loi sur le Service administratif des tribunaux judiciaires, qui est entrée en vigueur le 2 juillet 2003. Les deux Sections de la Cour fédérale sont devenues une cour d'appel distincte, portant le nom de « Cour d'appel fédérale », et une cour de première instance, portant le nom de « Cour fédérale ». Le titre abrégé de la Loi est maintenant la Loi sur les Cours fédérales. Pour refléter ces changements législatifs, le Recueil des arrêts de la Cour fédérale, qui est le recueil officiel des deux Cours, porte maintenant le nom de « Recueil des décisions des Cours fédérales » depuis la publication du Volume 1 de 2004. En même temps, on a adopté la référence « R.C.F. » pour éviter toute confusion avec la nouvelle citation neutre utilisée par la Cour fédérale.

La compétence de la Cour fédérale s'étend non seulement au contrôle judiciaire, mais aussi aux actions dans lesquelles la Couronne est demanderesse ou défenderesse, au droit maritime, aux douanes, aux relations du travail, au droit régissant la propriété intellectuelle—brevets, droit d'auteur, marques de commerce et dessins industriels—, et en matière de citoyenneté et d'immigration. La Cour d'appel fédérale entend les appels de la Cour fédérale et de la Cour canadienne de l'impôt, et elle a compétence pour connaître des demandes de contrôle judiciaire visant les offices fédéraux énumérés à l'article 28 de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales.

Recueil des décisions des Cours fédérales

Arrêtiste en chef

Le Recueil des décisions des Cours fédérales est le recueil officiel des décisions de la Cour d'appel fédérale et de la Cour fédérale. Il est publié en vertu de l'article 58 de la Loi sur les Cours fédérales, qui prévoit que le ministre de la Justice nomme ou désigne au poste d'arrêtiste en chef une personne chargée d'éditer le Recueil. Selon cet article, ne sont publiés dans le Recueil que les décisions ou les extraits de décisions considérés par l'arrêtiste en chef comme présentant suffisamment d'importance ou d'intérêt.

Comité consultatif

L'article 58 prévoit que le ministre « peut aussi nommer un comité de cinq personnes au plus pour conseiller l'arrêtiste ». Un tel comité consultatif a été constitué fin 1999. Les membres actuels de ce comité sont les suivants : Suzanne Thibaudeau, c.r., de Montréal; et l'avocat torontois Lorne Waldman du cabinet Waldman & Associates. L'arrêtiste en chef peut avoir recours à ces éminents avocats pour l'aider dans le processus de sélection pour les affaires qui relèvent de leur compétence particulière.

Site Web du Recueil des décisions des Cours fédérales

Le site Web du Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada rend disponibles tout à fait gratuitement les décisions de la Cour d'appel fédérale et de la Cour fédérale publiées dans le recueil officiel, dans leur intégralité ou sous forme de fiche analytique. Cette collection remonte à 1993. Une version intégrale du Recueil est également disponible en PDF sur le site pour les années 2007 et suivantes.